On February 24th and 25th, distinguished researchers from India and France have met at the National Institute of Advanced Studies for the ‘Collège de France’ Innovation Workshop entitled: ‘Innovation: Technological, Political and Societal dimensions’. This event was jointly organised by College de France, Paris, the Service for Science and Technology, French Embassy in India, New Delhi, the Centre for Social Sciences and Humanities, New Delhi, the French Institute in India, French Embassy in India, and the National Institute of Advanced Studies, Bengaluru.

The Workshop was inaugurated on Wednesday, February 24th, 2016, at 10:30 am. Mr. François Gautier, General Consul of France in Bangalore, and Professor Anne Cheng from ‘Collège de France’ have rendered the welcome addresses. Prof V. S. Ramamurthy, Former Secretary to the Government of India, Department of Science & Technology (DST) and Former Director of National Institute of Advanced Studies (NIAS), Prof K. VijayRaghavan (by videoconference), Secretary of Department of Biotechnology (DBT), Government of India, and Prof Sharat Chandra, Honorary Director, Centre for Human Genetics were the Chief Guests to the inauguration ceremony.

During two days, experts have shared their thoughts on innovation in various fields, including, ‘Innovation and Medicine’, ‘Political, Legal and Societal Innovations and Modernities’, ‘Innovation and Technologies for Energy’, ‘Informatics as the new Innovation Lever’ and ‘Innovation in Economics and the Economics of Innovation’. A panel discussion entitled ‘Innovation, Democracy and Institutions’ has concluded the event, along with keynote remarks by French blogger and author Dr Baptiste Beaulieu.

The ‘Collège de France’, a five-hundred year old Institute in Paris, is one of the highly regarded academic institutions in the world. Committed to cutting-edge research, it teaches “knowledge in the making” in the fields of literature, science and arts, and can boast of having world-leading experts as its faculty members. For the present workshop, five Professors from the ‘Collège de France’ have participated: Prof José-Alain Sahel, Director of the Vision Institute in Paris and Annual Chair L. Bettencourt in Technological Innovation, Prof Anne Cheng, Chair of Chinese Intellectual History, Prof Marc Fontecave, Director of the Laboratory of Chemistry of Biological Processes, Prof Gérard Berry, Director of Research at the French Institute for Research in Computer Science and Automation (INRIA) and Chair in Algorithms, Machines and Languages, Prof Roger Guesnerie, Chair in Economic Theory and Social Organization.

Indian experts participating in the Workshop included, among others, Prof Dorairajan Balasubramanian, Distinguished Scientist, L. V. Prasad Eye Institute, Hyderabad, and former President of Indian Academy of Sciences, Prof Balveer Arora, Former Rector and Pro-Vice Chancellor Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi, Prof Parthasarathi Mondal, Chairperson, Centre for Social Theory, School of Development Studies, Tata Institute of Social Sciences, Mumbai, Dr Ravinder Kaur, Head, Dept. of Humanities and Social Sciences, IIT Delhi, Dr Thirumalachari Ramasami, Former Indian Science and Technology Secretary (2006-2014), Dr Mathai Joseph, Computer scientist, formerly Professor of Computer Science, University of Warwick, and Executive Director at the Tata Research, Development and Design Centre (Pune), Prof Vijay Chandru, Executive Chairman, Strand Life Sciences, Bangalore, Ramesh Venkatesan, Principal Engineer, MR Applications Engineering at Wipro GE Healthcare, Bangalore, Dr Prashant Jha, Fellowship Director, Stanford India Biodesign Centre, School of International Biodesign (SIB), All India Institute of Medical Sciences (AIIMS), New Delhi, and Prof Jayant M. Modak, Deputy Director, IISc et ex-CEO Society for Innovation & Development IISc.

The book of Abstract of the event can be downloaded at the bottom of the page.


Front cover_2

Leave a Reply